Stillness, still.

After a bit of travel, my little family has returned to the quiet and stillness of Advent.  The children have been making ornaments and wrapping gifts at school and scouts, but for now, those Christmas things have been tucked into a corner of the dining room.  The Advent wreath remains our focal decoration. I have seen this year how we need the ritual and focus to which this wreath calls us.  I keep it simple–the candles guide our discussions of hope, waiting, joy and love.  The children are eager to get to love.

Our family focus will soon shift to Christmas.  The decorations will come out of the attic and out of that little pile in the corner of the dining room.  There will be consumer mayhem and too much sugar, I am sure.  I am also sure that after the frenzy of Christmas morning with young children, our Advent preparations will frame our celebration of love–a love that comes to us in unlikely characters and through backdoors.

Again, I want to share one of my favorite Advent songs, which I think captures what I mean about finding love though all the clutter. U2 reframe the original version of the song from bleak to hopeful–it helps me a lot.  See what you think.

How will you live into this love and hope that we celebrate in Christmas?  As you seek to use the final time of Advent to help you frame Christmas, check out this sermon by Martha Sterne.  An excerpt:

What about living with a little emptiness? That would be a switch in this culture. When we are busy filling every nook and cranny of our lives, there is no room for new life. So, what about emptying some things? Empty your calendar and see what fills your time. Empty your closets, your pantries, and give some things to people who need them more. Empty yourself. You can’t be open to something more unless there is some space inside yourself. What about leaving some room in your life for what will come? What about living with a little emptiness?

See you on Sunday.

kit

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stillness, still.

  1. Martha Sterne says:

    thanks Kit. You bless me always, and i am glad ot be part of this gift. Please make sure I am on your regular email list.

    >________________________________ > From: ReFocus >To: marthasterne@yahoo.com >Sent: Friday, December 20, 2013 11:52 AM >Subject: [New post] Stillness, still. > > > > WordPress.com >kittisdale posted: “After a bit of travel, my little family has returned to the quiet and stillness of Advent. The children have been making ornaments and wrapping gifts at school and scouts, but for now, those Christmas things have been tucked into a corner of the dining r” >

  2. Dawn Lankford says:

    Thank you Kit for this lovely message! I can’t believe it the song you posted is a favorite of mine as well. I am traveling literally as I write this. When I arrive to my destination it will be wonderful and chaotic at the same time I am sure but your message will help me to find those little spaces where I can add some quiet and contemplation into these remaining days of this Advent season. Thank you and Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  3. Steve Savell says:

    What a great message for this Advent. Preparing a way for The Lord actually requires time to prepare, so your thoughts and the posting from Martha are very appropriate even in these last few hours of Advent. The U2 video was a great add. I was familiar with the song but not the words, they are a little more impactful now – of course Kit since you are the person responsible for my appreciation of U2’s music and message this is also appropriate. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

